The Dark Horizon

From the award-winning author of The Road Back comes the first in a sweeping saga set between the wars, which introduces the Linfords, a family simmering with secrets, schemes and lies.

Oxfordshire, 1919. The instant that Lily Brown and Robert Linford set eyes on each other, they fall in love. The instant that Robert’s father, Joseph, head of the family’s successful building company, set eyes on Lily, he feels a deep distrust of her.

Convinced that his new daughter-in-law is a gold-digger, and that Robert’s feelings are a youthful infatuation he’d come to regret, Joseph resolves to do whatever it takes to rid his family of Lily. And he doesn’t care what that is.

As Robert and Lily are torn apart, the Linford family is told a lie that will have devastating consequences for years to come.

The Dark Horizon is perfect for readers of The Thorn Birds and the Cazalet Chronicles, and the novels of Fiona Valpy and Santa Montefiore.

Category:

Description

“Yes, Robert made an error, but he didn’t deserve to be weighted down for the rest of his life by a youthful infatuation. For his son’s sake, and for the sake of his baby, he’d get that woman out of their lives, and he didn’t care how he did it.”

At the start of a sweeping saga that moves between London, the Cotswolds, the tenements of Lower East Side, New York, and a village in Germany, Lily and Robert are torn apart by Robert’s father, Joseph, and the Linford family is told a lie that will have consequences for years to come.

Beginning with Lily’s moving story, the Linford Series uncovers a family in which secrets, schemes and deceit simmer beneath the surface, but to which love, loyalty and passion are no strangers.

The Dark Horizon is Book1 of The Linford Series

Additional information

Written By